When last I posted it was only hours before the Houston Coldplay concert and I was wondering if my prayers for a great concert were more than slightly selfish.  As it turns out God sometimes blesses us in ways that exceed our wildest hopes. 

The blessing goes like this: My wife and I had tickets at the top row of the bottom section of seats.  From there we were separated from the stage by an entire floor of concert goers and twenty three rows in our section.  All of this was fine by us as the music and show were amazing and due to the cost of tickets the evening was tagged as our anniversary, birthday and Christmas presents to each other.  Also my brother bought tickets a month after we did and as we were walking to the arena we realized that we had tickets two rows away from my brother so we would get to see the show together (sort of, more on that later).  The concert was awesome and well worth any gifts we may have given to each other for anniversary, birthdays or Christmas.  Then it happened…  In the middle of the concert the entire band jumped off the stage, ran past the crowd on the floor, up the stairs of our section and stopped three feet behind us on a small platform.  They proceeded to play an acoustic version of the song my wife and I danced to as our first song at our wedding.  I can not describe the awesomeness of this moment but thanks to Youtube here it is (if you look close mine is the highest cell phone taking pictures)…

Ridiculous?  Absolutely.  The entire time Kara and I couldn’t believe what was happening.  As the band was running our way I actually thought about what I had written earlier that day about asking to be blessed by God in some memorable way through a concert.  God is huge and He answers prayers.  It would be great if He answered them like this every time but that isn’t the way it works.  Instead He blesses us the way that He knows is best.  This is by far my coolest story of answered prayer and maybe it can help you out today as you go through your day to remember that God is working and blessings come at us everyday sometimes they are big sometimes they are small and sometimes they include Coldplay.

One last thing.  When the band came up to where we were sitting my brother who was two rows in front of us wasn’t two rows in front of us he was in the bathroom.  So the experience wasn’t quite perfect after all.